im a failure

crothers2003
on 11/7/08 10:24 am - Scottsville, VA
I feel like such a failure. I ad an EGD done on Thursday and the doc said my anatomy looks fine but I just cant lose the weight. I was wondering if it is possible for your body to adjust to the RNY after six years because I never get the sensation of being full. I want to get the revision doneto the DS but I am so afraid this will cause problems with me and my wife. It seems like I have become totally obsessed with this. Does anyone know if a surgeon would do the surgery if nothing wrong with my anatomy? I have been keeping a food journal as well as my workout for the  last 3 months. In that time I have been diagnosed as a boarderline diabetic, placed back on blood pressure meds, put back on meds for GERD, and diagnosed with sleep apnea again and currently on 2 meds for depression. Somebody please give me some guidance.
mew6495
on 11/7/08 12:21 pm - MI
 Do you know if your RNY was proximal?  Your body does overcome some of the malabsorption over time.  The Villi (sp) will grow back which absorb the nutrients and calories.  And since the proximal doesn't bypass a lot, the body would have an easier time over coming it.

I just had a revision after 7 yrs out and the surgeon I went to did not question what my autonomy's condition was.  He was more interested in what my goals were and helping me reach them and get healthy.  I think you would have a greater problem getting insurance to approve without proof of mechanical failure.  However if your BMI is high and you have the comorbidities then they may consider.  All insurance companies are different and you would have to check their policy on WLS and revisions.

If you are self pay I am sure you could find a good doctor to help you.  There are some good doctors around but you may have to travel to see them.  The important thing is finding a good surgeon who does many revisions as a revision to a RNY has higher complication risks.

Good luck to you.