what are revision options after RNY? NOT Stomaphyx or Restore

mipo1
on 10/14/08 5:06 am - Lowell, MA
What does the surgeon do to revise a RNY?  I tried the Restore and it did not hold.  I have a huge anastamosis dilation but a fairly normal sized pouch.  Form the old operative report the bypassed limb isn't as much as the research I've done indicates it should be. My original surgeon bypassed only 60cm not the 100cm that I've read is the usual length bypassed.  Is this what they do ? I mean extend the limb and tighten the anastamosis site?  Anyone out there know?
Ruth S.
on 10/14/08 12:06 pm - Orlando, FL
Not that I'm an expert but I can offer an opinion. #1 You can have an extended RNY or DS version of the surgery where they can bypass more..which would give the likihood of more diarrhea. However, with this..it would be major surgery - if that is what you would be looking for. #2 You can look into the schlerotherapy, which is a agent that creates scar tissue around the stoma. This will allow food to stay more in the pouch (since you stated it is normal size or not enlarged) and this will curb your appetite and give you saiety longer.  I know that is what Im feeling now since I've had it. The schlerotherapy helps in closing the stoma and the person should be able to lose weight. Schlerotherapy though is fairly new and not sure if available everywhere. Check to see if there are any drs in your area who does this. the schlerotherapy is done endoscopically and you're in the hospital for a couple hrs only. If you have any questions, ask.
Ruth S.
mew6495
on 10/14/08 1:00 pm - MI
 Hello mipo1,