EGD Report

stephisav
on 9/3/08 11:51 am - oceanville, nj
Does anyone understand the language in the Endoscopy Reports?  I had the EGD performed in 05' and just picked up a copy of the report. I have a consult tomorrow with Dr. Mehta in NJ. After the Egd in 05' The Gastroentoligist referred me to the Bariatric Surgeon in my area.  He was relatively new in bariatrics, but had performed a lot of surgeries.  When I met with that surgeon, he had told me that I do need a revision and that he doesn't clean up other "doctors messes". Today I read the report and it states "complete breakdown of the gastric bypass surgery". There was also other common issues like GERD, ulcers, Hiatel Hernia, etc.  Please comment if you have had a similar report or know anything about these reports. I am curiose to see what Dr. Mehta's recommendations are.  Thanks for any info!!
latinasoi
on 9/4/08 4:42 am, edited 9/4/08 9:56 am - Orlando, FL
Hello, I'm no doctor!!!!! But it soundslike the surgeon you saw was no professional, if those were his exact words "CLEANING UP OTHER DOCTORS MESSES."  Doesn't it make you think that maybe, Dr. He or She is not the right surgeon for you?  I had a bad experience with a doctor, he turned out to be a total A*****E, if you  know what I mean. So I searched on this site and found another, and he's great.  So take it as a sign.  If doctors can transplant organs, do open heart surgeries, implant artificial limbs.  How hard could it be to correct a breakdown of your past surgery???  All the other things you mentioned Gerd, etc., etc, are very common. I believe that a true Bariatric Doctor will not overlook it, but it won't phase them either. Use this site as a tool, many people do it.  It is truly a blessing.  Good Luck on your Journey.

Annette, Orlando, FL
ginau
on 9/4/08 8:04 am - mesa, AZ