Hating my band afraid of gastric bypass

Gloria A.
on 8/22/08 5:10 am - Federal Way, WA
Great response Zena ... I am a newbie RNY (revised from lap band) .. and I have severe dumping on sugar and things that turn to sugar fast (pasta, crackers, anything made w/ white flour) .. but you know what ... I need the dumping because those foods are my "drug" of choice and now I cannot eat them ...

My sister - a distal RnY (some call extended?) .. has no dumping and tolerates sugar better now post op than before her surgery ... so everyone will react differently.

And there is no "standard" for a gastric bypass in that surgeons use different techniques to form the stoma, bypass the intestines at different lengths for proximal (some 100cm, some 150cm, some not so much at all ) .. so you really, really need to research the surgeries in detail so you can ask the right questions.

(Not medical advice - BIG DISCLAIMER) I asked for the most bypass a proximal can have that is efficient  .. any more just causes gas, the runs and not any more weight loss (this is measured from the top near the stomach) .. an extended or distal measures "common channel" and this is measured from the colon "up" to the bypass site .. so the surgeries are technically different even if both done laproscopically.  And again, the term "medial", "distal", "extended" are not really defined wrt length of common channel - there are just "best practices" established .. so different surgeons may "interpret" these differently ..

DS is done differently today than even 5 years ago .. talk to DS'ers and find out what length of common channel (or if they are more prox bypassed) .. again research, research .. the old distals presented more problems than how the surgery is done today ... don't let urban legends about DS scare you away from that option.

I know people having great success with their bands .. but for me, the long term prognosis w/ the band in fighting my disease wasn't good ..