Anyone had a LAPBAND and have revision to......

lapoli7
on 7/23/08 3:17 pm - Rialto, CA

I am fairly new to OH and was wondering if there is anyone that has had a failed lapband??
I am currently in the motions to try and get apporived for the Rouex-en-Y through my insurance.

I have had my band about 3 yrs and I am basically where I started at. I found out through
and information session provided by my insurance that the band isn't typically done on
people over 300lbs....well I was 395lbs and I currently weigh 411lbs. It was like a nightmare!
I would lose weight when I was on the liquid portion, but once I could eat normal food it stopped. Then I had some complications with swelling of the esophogus (i think i spelled that right) a few times. I am hoping there is someone here that has had a revision surgery of this nature....

Thanks for any information or advice!

Liz
Kaiser So Cal
Surgery- revision from LapBAND to RNY 11/28/08
Starting BMI 61.3
Current BMI 46.6
415 lbs  / 403 lbs / 316 lbs  /220 lbs
highest / surgery / current  /   goal

I love Chocolate
on 7/23/08 8:31 pm - Labrador, Australia
Hi,

I had lapband in 2000 at 153kgs lost 60kgs and then regained 30kgs, I was revised to DS in August 2004 and it was the best thing I could have done. I can't help you with info on the RNY, but please don't forget to check out the DS.

Best wishes in your research

Lesley
PekinSal
on 7/23/08 9:01 pm - UK
Ditto - if its any consolation I had the band for 2.5 years and lost about 30lbs in all that time. I know lots of people do well with it (my DH is one of them) but it didnt work for us; time to move on!