help me understand?

DJ
on 7/9/08 3:02 am - Parsippany, NJ
Hi,  I had an RNY in 2005. I had lost about 150 lbs.. but started to gain and have gained back about 50 lbs to date.. I am really scared it will all be back soon.. My dr said some people are genetically programmed to be heavy (ugh)... well I am not good at following the RNY rules anylonger this far out.. and as much as i try I fail..  what would a revision do for me.. I hate where I am but don't know how to move the weight off. Thanks, D
ginau
on 7/9/08 3:54 am - mesa, AZ

Depends on the type of revision  you choose,  you  can do a Stomaphyx or Rose  procedure that would give you a smaller pouch and  more restriction, Or you can do a more mal-absorptive  procedure.    The later will inhibit you from absorbing calories and reduce your weight , you also  will run high risk of vitamin and  mineral  deficiencies .

There is lots of research on this forum  you can read  about - but your Dr  will be the best one  to help you determin the best course of action.

DJ
on 7/9/08 5:08 am - Parsippany, NJ
thanks,,  but your last statement sums up my confusion.. Doctors are not helping me understand, they all say something different.. As far a the vit and mineral thing goes we already have that issue with the RNY. I have read the site but don't see how you know exactly when and why or which... they probably all work.. you just have to be vigilant..  I guess I will probably never understand.
Heidineub
on 7/9/08 7:05 am