What are the requirements for insurance approval for revision?

Julie85
on 6/13/08 2:48 am - NY
Lap Band on 06/11/07 with
Hey all, it's my first time posting here. I'm thinking I may need a revision (I'm way ahead of myself, but I'm assuming I have an erosion) and was hoping that if that's the case I can have a revision at the same time my band comes out (IF that turns out to be the case). Have any of you done that? I think I would want the sleeve but I'm no longer morbidly obese and I don't know the requirements. I know surgery to take out the band would be covered as emergency surgery, but how does revision work?

happy girl
on 6/13/08 10:10 am
It depends on your insurance company.  A lot of the time it's the same for a first time surgery, unless there is another reason.  Your band erosion could be enough, but I know my cousin in law?  (Husband's cousin) couldn't get a revision because her bmi was normal and they had to take her band out and couldn't do anything else.  she has re-gained some weight, but is doing ok with weigh****chers. good luck!

2003 RNY, 2007 Revision Distal RNY
April 17, 2009 ~ fleur de lis TT w/Muscle Repair, Medial Thigh Lift, Ventral Hernia Repair 

JSIL
on 6/13/08 12:35 pm
"but I'm assuming I have an erosion"   How do you know?  I am having trouble with my band, upper GI next week.  What are your symptoms? 

Julie85
on 6/14/08 12:07 pm - NY