Revision & Insurance

KIMMAD
on 6/7/08 1:30 am - IN
Hello everybody!  I am a newbie at this but here it goes... I had a RNY in 2002 and went from 305 pounds to approximately 150 pounds.  I have since regained most of the weight and am at 260 lbs.  I am considering a revision but I'm not sure if my insurance will cover a revision.  Has anyone had any experience dealing with insurance companies and revisions?  I currently have Blue Cross Blue Shield.    Any advice?  I can use all of the advice I can get !!  Thanks so much!
darnell239
on 6/7/08 6:25 am - Columbia, SC
I have federal blue cross blue shield and just got approved about a week ago.   If you can prove that there was some kind of mechanical failure to your surgery such as a stretched stoma or stretched pouch and you are having some other kind of problem then they might approve it.  You will need to find a good revision surgeon who will perform an upper GI and endoscopy to see if there are reasons beyond your control for the weight regain.  Hopes this helps.
KIMMAD
on 6/7/08 12:48 pm - IN
Thank you for the information!  I am scheduled to see a NP this Tuesday who does the inital consultations for a local Bariatric group.  I hope to get more information at the appointment.  Hopefully they can order the tests for me.   Congratulations on your approval!  Do you have a date set?  I'll try to follow your progress!  thanks again!     
M. Hall
on 6/8/08 11:59 am - Norcross, GA
I have BCBS of Georgia and I was approved in 2 weeks although there was a mechanical failure, plus alot of weight gain. When I 1st had my surgery I didnt have a problem being approved, but now things have changed. An upper endoscopy showed I had a fistula and an increased stoma and pouch
KIMMAD
on 6/8/08 1:46 pm - IN
How long was it after your original surgery that your doctors found the mechanical problem?  Did you have a RNY originally?  What type of revision did you have done?  Thanks for your help! 
Cathisw
on 6/9/08 2:16 am - Lynchburg, VA