I'm in the RESTORE clinical trials.

wterry99
on 1/4/08 11:26 am

I used the link at the website and within 1-2 days someone emailed me and requested more information, then forwarded my information to the study site that was closest to me--Cleveland Clinic. A couple of days  after that, the Nurse Coordinator (Sidney) contacted me by phone and it moved pretty quickly from there.  The link is probably the quickest route--Good luck!

Tyner08
on 1/9/08 10:18 am - GA
Hi All Im in the very early stage.  Just finished the phone screening, which i qualified, so someone will call me to schedule appts.   My procedure is in DC.  I live in Atlanta, but as a teacher I have summers off so was wishing that I can do the bulk of the visits during the summer months.   Im glad that I read your posts, so now I know that they are flexible.  NOW something in one of the earlier posts confused me.  I thought that once you qualified ,you would automatically have the procedure.   So, what is this about a "sham"?  Can someone shed some light on that for me?  
katchal
on 1/9/08 11:10 am - Goodview, VA
Hi.  With the RESTORe clinical trial, there is a 1 out of 3 chance that you will not be selected to initially have the procedure.  A sham procedure would be done.  The patients aren't informed which procedure you are receiving.  Everyone follows the same aftercare for 6 months.  At the end of  the 6 months, if you were one of the unlucky ones to receive the sham proecedure and you have followed all of the guidelines as if you had the procedure, then you will be offered to have the procedure then.  Of course, you will then have 6 more months of aftercare.  It sounds like you will be traveling which is what will be happening to me as well.  I will be going to Baltimore to John Hopkins.  There are several people doing this clinical trial.  I am very excited about this opportunity.  I wish you the best of luck.  Kathy
cmr3399
on 1/4/08 12:22 pm - Bayville, NJ