NEWBIE here...What's the deal with "revisions?"

CollieMac
on 5/30/07 3:30 pm - Lanham, MD
Hello, I'm fairly new to OH and am in the process of researching various procedures.  OH has a plethora of information that I'm trying to filter through and I came across this forum.  What's the deal with "revisions?"  What are some of the cir****tances surrounding "revisions" e.g. surgeon incompetence, dieting, etc.  Please, do share...
CAM
on 5/31/07 7:56 am - Houston area, TX

Well, for me, I ended up having the revision from LAP band to RNY after 2 1/2 years with the LAP band.  I had fairly good results with the LAP band, I just hit a one year plateau and I needed a stronger "tool" to help wage war in my battle against the bulge.  With the LAP band I lost about 100 pounds the first 1 1/2 year, but nothing after that.  I was originally urged by my husband and surgeon to go with the RNY, but I wasn't ready for something so drastic and permanent.  Now, I realize I should have chosen that route. 

I hope this helps answer your question!!

Good luck on your search for answers!

299 start/235 current/180 doc goal/165 my goal

Deb *.
on 6/1/07 2:41 am
I recently had a revision from a VBG to RNY in March.  I had my VBG done in 1992 and lost around 125 lbs and kept it off for about 5 years.  After that I put on more than 250lbs from my low weight of 250.  I found out this year that the staple line on my VBG had opened into my stomach, which basically negated the surgery. Debbi

debrat262
on 6/4/07 3:06 am - Los Angeles, CA