Finally got the insurance approval!! Is this really happening??

gmshineyeyes
on 11/22/10 12:39 pm
It is my first time posting on this website and for me its kind of a new beginning. I'm so excited to join this community of people who have taken the steps to change their lives. I thought the wait would never end. It killed me that HBCBS makes you wait 6 months to prove you can lose weight. Today Wonda from Dr. Nusbaum's office called and tears rolled down my face as she told me that I would be in better shape for swim suit season! As a college student struggling at my weight I never thought it would be possible that I would be under 200lbs before I graduated. I am so excited now. I know what to expect surgery wise and my 2 friends have had it the surgery but neither have posted on the websites. I really am just looking for that extra support of those who understand what i'm going through. Is this really happening now? My surgery date is set for December 23. I wi**** was tomorrow at this point! Any advice out there?? 

thanks for taking your time to listen to my rant!
 <3 Gracie
LillieGracesMom
on 11/23/10 8:28 am
Hello and welcome!  Your journey is just beginning and new and exciting times are ahead.  My advice:  take things slow after your surgery.  Allow yourself to heal.  That said, start walking ASAP, even if it's just to the mailbox and back.  Add a minute or two everyday to your walking routine and before you know it you'll be knocking off 5 miles in a little over an hour.  Also, sip, sip, sip water all day long.  Make sure to get your 64 oz. of water a day.  This is important.   Walk, walk, walk and sip, sip, sip! 
Best of luck and keep us posted on your journey.  YOU CAN DO IT!!!
-Heather

gmshineyeyes
on 11/29/10 7:57 am
 Thank you so much for the tips. I always tend to avoid walking even though I'm on a college campus and walking is inevitable. I got to start remembering to take the stairs every once in  a while! 

Grace
 <3 Gracie
dlee40