Howdy!

sunnyswim
on 12/15/09 2:46 pm

I am really new to this but I know that I need to change my life in certain ways so getting online and getting apart of support groups will help. I just recently had realize band done (12/12/09). So far I am sore, tired and I have a real bad cough which I don’t think its normal ( I have to pick up an antibiotic tomorrow). But I don’t feel as hungry and I am so excited to see my progress and the progress of the other people who decided to take the step. Is it normal to be itchy and I am still so sore?

Melanie Short
on 12/15/09 8:36 pm - Hamilton, OH
First welcome to OH! I too am a newby for the band, I had my surgery 12/8. I think I was pretty fortunate I never really had pain or was very sore at all. I had a little bit of an uncomfortable feeling but never pain. I have been itchy though, but think that is pretty normal as the incisions are healing. I wish you luck, and hope you feel better.
Melanie    
sunnyswim
on 12/17/09 11:45 am

Thank you for the reply! Its just a little hard right now since I have a slight infection and the medication is making me ill since I have to take it with food and the stage one diet contains nothing that willl bind up my stomach. I am itchy because I am healing, I am real excited for my fill I want to feel full! How are you doing with it??

Pixieland
on 12/15/09 8:38 pm - Davison, MI
Hi Sunny and welcome!!  Its only been a few days since your surgery so I do think it is normal to be sore.  I'm not so sure about the itchy part...is it at the incision sites or are you itchy all over?  I would think at the incision sites that is normal and part of healing...if itsall over I would call my Dr.  You may be having a reaction to some meds.
Give yourself time to heal.
I had my band 'installed' Oct 16 and have not had one minute of regret.  I have had 2 fills now and am feeling some restriction now but think one more fill will get me to my 'sweet spot'.  I have lost 33 pounds so far and am thrilled!