Band or Bypass

DianaLynn1
on 11/23/09 10:38 am
Hi all!  I am working on my 6 months insurance requirements prior to surgery.  I was set on the realize band until I went to the information session in October with the surgeon.  After hearing that many are not successful with the band, I began to switch my train of though to RNY.  I have 5 more months to make a decision, but i want feedback from those of  you who have been successful with the band.  I have 130 lb to lose.

Looking for any feedback you have to offer!

Thanks
Diana
DianaLynn    
BooLicious
on 11/23/09 1:07 pm - PA
I was set on RNY but then changed to band after going to the meetings.  I had a 140 pounds to loose and I feel confident that I will do it.  I have to believe I will or whats the point, right?  So, I am a newbie, but things are going good and I feel great so far and am losing weight just fine.  I am losing it slower then RNY but that is normal and how it is with the band.  I liked that idea of losing it healthier, but now that I am...I can't say I wouldn't love some quick loss here and there.  It's moving steadily DOWN though and that is what matters to me and I think it's going at a good pace.  I am following the rules though, I weigh, measure and log my food.  So, I am sure that helps. 

Both will be as much as you are willing to put into them.  They are different in how you loose weight, so your gonna have to dig down and find out which procedure will be better for you individually to loose weight.  OH is a great resource to get you started, but you gotta decide for you.  Listen to your instincts too. 

Good luck in your decision and journey.  I am sure you will be successful with either procedure you choose.  :)

Boo
Boo

04/20/2009- Started Pre-Op Diet at 281 pounds
09/16/2009- Had Surgery at 248 pounds
11/19/2009- 1st fill of 4 cc's
12/15/2009-
2nd Fill of 1 cc
01/28/2010- 3rd Fill of .5 cc
04/01/2010- 4th Fill of .3 cc

Ultimate Goal Weight:  140

Barble