shawnao
on 11/3/09 10:04 pm
Hi everyone! I am a newbie here. I am a 32 year old mother of 3 boys, ages 7,4 & 19 months. I have had my appointment with the coordinator as well as all my pretest with the hospital. I meet with the doctor for the first time today! I have no waiting time with my insurance so the coordinatior told me I could be on the schedule in 2 to 3 months! I am very excited to have found this group. Someone tell me how you cope with feeding a husband & 3 boys after banding!
BooLicious
on 11/3/09 10:44 pm - PA

Congrats!!!  What an exciting journey you are starting. 

I have a 4 yo and 18 month old so I understand about the feeding.  My husband just goes along with me.  Whatever I can and do eat he can eat too, he just eats a larger portion.  He's been real supportive and helpful.  Also, the kids are eating health too.  That has always been one of my things as a parent because of my weight struggles, so I hope the cycle ends with me.  Any snacks my kids get are like cheese and crackers, yogurt, SF puddings or jello, graham cracker cookies, the new whole grain fish (you can't even tell the difference).  They do get treats here and there but they don't even know less.  I just know I can't buy and have them foods sitting in front of me all the time and I am not helping myself or my family be doing that.   It makes it easier on me and makes me feel good about healhty eating.  My 4 year old loves knowing she's eating healthy.  I had printed out a kids food pyramid from http://www.mypyramid.gov/KIDS/Kids_game.html  It's a great website and me and my daughter would talk about the foods and meals and what part of the pyramid they would be in.  It has really helped make me stronger with my diet and like I said, it makes me feel good to know I'm passing good, healthy habits and not my old bad one.