my surgery is in 3 days (9/3/09) and I am feeling mixed emotions...

Rachel S.
on 8/31/09 6:04 am - Montclair, NJ
Hi Dedi:

No, I did not stay overnight. My surgery was scheduled for 9:30am, so I was there as planned at 7:30am, 2 hours before for registration, etc. OR's are always behind, my surgery started about 11am and I was discharged home and in the car at 3:30pm!

I should have thought about wearing my scrubs! Are you a nurse, too?

bsc-8-30
on 8/31/09 6:08 am
I'm a retired nurse, I guess there is alot of us out here.huh?
Rachel S.
on 8/31/09 8:46 am - Montclair, NJ
Yeah, I'm beginning to think so, too! hehe

Dedi
on 8/31/09 6:42 am, edited 8/31/09 6:42 am
REALIZE Band on 09/03/09 with
nope, they are just my fat pants hehe... I have a pair for when I don't want to squeeze into my other clothes.

I'm actually a counselor for addictions.

Dedi

260/243/128.8/130

Mikkifinn
on 8/31/09 7:47 am - Goodyear, AZ
Dedi, the best advice I can give you while you're on liquid/soft foods and invited to a get together is to bring food that you can eat so you can be part of the group. I felt so alone and isolated because I didn't bring anything I could eat. At least 3 people came up to me to ask me to go eat and I had to tell them I couldn't eat what was there....then had to explain why. At least if you have food you can eat, no one will hopefully ask why you're not eating! Good luck and you're making a step in the right direction!

LIsa M.
on 8/31/09 8:41 am - Manahawkin, NJ
i am a week post op from my surgery and today now that I've taking in more protein with the shakes i feel much better then the last 2 days.  My only problem after surgery was extreme nausea but I had problems pre op with it.  make sure you get a good night sleep the night before if you can, I think that really made me more ready the morning of. 

This board has been amazing and alot of good advice :)
(deactivated member)
on 9/1/09 4:42 am
Hello!