Was your surgery in a Bariatric Surgery Center of Excellence?

zparticle
on 5/18/09 8:17 am
I'm just curious.  I keep seeing messages from people that are getting huge amounts put in their bands on the first fill along with a lot of other things that seem dangerous to me.  I would like to know if your surgery was done in a program that is considered a Bariatric Surgery Center of Excellence and what your first fill amount was.

COE: Yes
FFA: 3 CCs

Now, I'm not a doctor and the program I'm in definately moves slow.  They keep you moving forward steadily but safely.  I'm just curious and I'm not saying anyones doctor is bad.  This is simply me being curious.

Center of excellence must meet these requirements:

• Must have adequate resources for bariatric patients
  • Must show excellent patient outcomes
  • Must prove institutional commitment at the highest level
  • Must have specialized bariatric patient equipment
  • Personnel is specially trained for bariatric patient care
  • Must have a large case volume
  • Must collect and maintain case management & outcomes data
  • Advanced practice personnel (FNP-C, PA-C)
  • Diet/Nutrition support
  • Psychological support
  • Dedicated bariatric patient care unit
  • Inservice education

anotherlisa
on 5/18/09 2:30 pm - OH

Yes..both my surgeon's practice & the hospital are COE's.  My first fill was 3.8cc's with fluro.  I think many surgeons opt using fluro on the first fill to both make sure all is ok and so they can give a better fill level based on the individual..thus they are often larger than would be given if it were a blind fill.  Mine uses the fluro for our first fill and then if/when they desire to check our restriction and/or at one yr to verify all is ok.  Our routine adjustments are much smaller and are based on how much we are eating and how much restriction we have.  

7/07 - 313  8/07 6mth diet - 304.8  4/21/08 pre-op - 267 surgery - 252
current - 192.5.....Ticker starts at 304.8

smilan