Why did I have the band done? Very frustrated.

stampergirl
on 5/5/09 1:16 pm - Newark, DE
I had the band done 1/27/09. Since I had surgery I have only lost 12 pounds and that was in the first 2 weeks. I have lost 5 inches in my waist but no more pounds. Yes my clothes feel looser but what about the pounds. I have been bouncing up and down 5lbs for 2 months. Today is one of those days where I almost regret having the band done. I could have lost and gained the same 5lbs by myself. Hell, I've been doing that for years.

Yes, I am following the band rules. Per nutritionist, I am having between1200 and 1400 calories and at least 80 grams of protein a day. I am working out 6 days a week. Three of those days I do a deep water workout class. Two days a week I use the treadmill for 30 to 60 min and then strength train for 30min. One day a week I take a Body Flow class, which is a combo of pilates, tai chi and yoga.

Yes, I know that muscle wears more than fat. Yes, I am aware I am loosing inches. But what the hell is up with the pounds.

When did your scale finally move? How many more months am I going to go without seeing tthe scale move?

I really need encouragement.

Nicole
zparticle
on 5/5/09 1:39 pm, edited 5/15/09 5:30 am
Nicole,

it seems like you have answered your own question. You are probably putting on a bunch of muscle and replacing fat.  That is a very good thing.  You are loosing inches and clearly have the will power with as much exercise as you are doing. 

I'd bet at some point you are going to suddenly start dropping pounds like crazy.  Your body just needs to find the right equilibrium.  Hang in there, it sounds like you are doing all of the right things.  I personally think 6 days a week might even be too much for work outs.  You don't have to torture yourself now, you've probably done that for a long time already.

Give it a little longer, and do your best to keep a positive mental state.  I know it's hard but don't give up.

-Scott
jkhawk8