I want your opinon

NJBipolarkub524
on 4/30/09 3:11 pm - Wayne, NJ
Hi folks! 
I have decided to take the step and do it!  I feel liberated!!
Here are my questions for debate
1) Why gastric banding over Roux
2) Why Realze over Lapbad

Gvie me your opinons from experiences not medical jargon.  What is your experience
kathkeb
on 5/1/09 3:07 am
Hi --
I am brand new to the process, so I will just tell you why I chose what I chose.

1.  I have no co-morbiditied.  I am looking for a tool to help me change my eating and exercise patterns and have the time (2 - 3 years) to make that happen.  In the past, I have tried things that were quick fixes (Medifast for 24 weeks) and that was not long enough for me to be successful in learning how to live long-term with healthy eating patterns.

2.  Realize because my surgeon believes the bands are 'equal', and due to a package price he has been able to develop with the local surgery center and the Realize folks, the self-pay option is more affordable for me. 

3.  I also like the idea of the Realize My Success on their website.  I will need the accountability of contact/communication.

Also, my doc requires a monthly follow up appointment for at least 1 year -- whether you think you need a fill or unfill or not.
His patients have lost 80%+ of their Excess Weight -- and he firmly believes that the follow up plan is critical to that success.

Best of luck in your research and decision making process,

Kath

Farmgirl58
on 5/1/09 4:05 am - AL