X-post: Everything I wished I had known, and everything I learned, from my LBL and BL

stacieblue
on 3/31/15 9:56 am - Fletcher, NC
You look great! Thanks for posting. I am 8 years out after gastric bypass. And 10 lbs lighter than expected. I lost 145 lbs. next Wednesday I am scheduled for a belt lipectomy and inner thigh lift. In October I will do arms and boobs. I am nervous about the belt lipectomy and inner thigh lift. I will get a numbing pain med that lasts 96 hours and Percocet. I will have 5 drains. I don't smoke or drink and am very healthy. I hope i heal fast. I am taking two weeks off work. I am a nail technician so no heavy lifting etc. I sit all day. I am just nervous. His directions were to eat 50-70 grams of protein per day. I already eat about 50 per day. I'll call to find out but I not sure if that was for regular people or a ray person? What did your dr advise you?
Love, light, and protein,
Stacie

Dcgirl
on 4/1/15 6:39 am - DC
RNY on 12/16/13

Hi Stacie,

How exciting that you are scheduled for next week!  I am telling you, other than the first night at home, the pain has been so tolerable.  And I am a a baby.  I am still taking Oxycodone before bed because the swelling is really uncomfortable.  I had two drains and they came out day 10 post op when the daily fluid was less than 20 cc.  The drains were annoying but didn't bother me, and didn't hurt to be removed.  I would definitely up your protein.  My doctor wanted me closer to 100 before and after.  Right after I ate very little the first few days but I am back to normal now.  Just grab deli turkey and things like that for a snack.  I am also doing a shake or a bar a day to add 20 g of protein to my daily diet.  Your body apparently needs the protein to heal.