5 days post-op TT and Hernia repair

Ashley in Belgium
on 10/28/14 1:04 am - Belgium
RNY on 08/08/13

Hi All -

I am 5 days out from an extended TT with extensive muscle repair (for the text books apparently) and had 3 hernias repaired at the same time.  The hernias were in fact the reason for the surgery - the TT, diastis repair etc were all necessary to keep me from having more hernias later down the line.  I am 14.5 months post-op revision RNY and have lost 126 pounds.  I am currently way below goal at 127 lbs.  I had 700g of skin/fat removed (1.6lb) and lost 2 more pounds while in hospital.

I have got to say that this was my most painful surgery - the muscle tightening is not for the wimpy! - and the recovery at this point is tedious and painstaking.  I can only say RESPECT to those who have had multiple PS at a time as that is unimaginable to me having gone through this.  This was my sixth abdominal surgery so I am not a novice!  Every day it is better and I am much more mobile now that I am home.  I was able to be released from the hospital on day 3 post-op as my drains were all removed due to low output.  

If anyone is interested I will post in a follow-up some of the things I found useful (that I learned from this site and others) as well as things that I thought I'd need/use but didn't.  Anyway - this is mostly a shout out that I made it through to the otherside cause there were a few tough moments when I was thinking WTH did I do???  Today though I am starting to see the positive - I definitely have a defined waist and my tummy jiggles are gone!! 

Ashley

Revision Band to RNY 8/8/13 5'4" HW 252 Lbs / SW 236 Lb / GW 135 lb / CW 127

emelar
on 10/28/14 1:56 am - TX

Ashley, congratulations on making it to the other side!  Yes, the muscle repair is an absolute *****  And you'll definitely have moments or days of remorse over why the hell you did it to yourself.  But it WILL pass.  Don't try to be a hero - take your pain meds and get lots of rest.