Still overweight TT

dhaworth
on 11/5/09 4:33 am
Have any of you had a TT while you were still overweight?

I have lost 100 lbs, but I am still overweight, but I really want a TT.

I would appreciate your thoughts on this. 

Thanks!
Iam_with_the_Band
on 11/5/09 4:40 am, edited 11/5/09 4:45 am
I'm probably one of the few here who hasn't reached goal.  I have lost just over 200lbs and still have 75 lbs to lose.  I'm extremely active.  I am a swimmer and a cyclist.  However, after losing so much weight I have a really large upper and lower stomach (not just pannus) and really bad arms.  My arms are the worst!  They hang very low and measure over 30 inches.  When I started my LapBand journey almost 2 years ago, they measured 22.  The more I lose the more they hang.  Understandable.  I am getting a TT - not for cosmetic reasons at this point, but for functionality.  If I can lose this lower and upper stomach, I can be more active.  I could run!  I am a nurse who works 12 hour night shifts and my lower back just can't handle the heaviness of my stomach.  I consulted last year and the surgeon here in Denver agreed he would be fine with doing a TT early and I'd just return for a revision as goal.  His price was very high, so I looked elsewhere.  I'm going to Mexico in 4 weeks.  I'm also having a Brachioplasty.  I understand I'll need a revision, but at least I won't be hit in the head and face with my excess arm skin while I'm swimming laps!

Oh BTW, if you do have surgery before getting to goal, you won't heal as quickly because you have so much fat still, also you're higher risk with the anesthesia and for blood clots post operatively and you will certainly need a revision when you do get to goal.

12/09 and 6/11, 9 skin removal procedures with Dr. Sauceda in Monterrey Mexico
Revised to the Sleeve after losing 271 lbs with the LapBand. 

dhaworth
on 11/5/09 4:46 am
Thank you so much for your response!
Iam_with_the_Band
on 11/5/09 5:05 am