more info please on TT and hernia

cherylbella
on 9/24/09 2:11 pm
Hello everyone, This is my first time posting on this message board. I had a VSG on 07/30/08 and have lost 137 lbs. Needless to say my life is so much better and I am a very happy gal. I have developed a hernia and would like to have a TT when I have the hernia repair done. I have seen a few post and would like more wise consul from my OH friends. What is the recovery? How was the pain? Was it hard to talk your surgeon into doing both. Did you have just one surgeon and did he do both? Thank you in advance for your information. Everyone have a beautiful night
Cheryl

Redhaired
on 9/24/09 9:57 pm - Mouseville, FL

My plastic surgeon fixed my hernia while doing my TT.  It was not an issue at all and in fact I think the hernia repair may have helped me get the TT.  But then too, my hernia was small.  I have read of people who have both general surgeon and plastic surgeon operating in tandem; one for hernia repair and one for TT.  I would talk to the plastic surgeon and get his/her take on the hernia repair.  He/she will have no qualms about telling you whether or not it is beyond the scope of the work they do. 

Red

cherylbella
on 9/25/09 2:33 am

Oh great. This is kinda what I wanted to hear. I am seeing the surgeon on Monday. Thank u so much.

kimmee2k
on 9/25/09 4:57 am - Phoenix, AZ
Cheryl,

I have had 3 hernias it has left scars on me but I dont mind because they are repaired. I had mine done with my TT and the pain was tolerable. I was up the next day after my TT but I did take it easy for about 3 weeks. After that I was back to doing my daily routine. I have a high tolerance to pain so it was bearable for me. Everyone is diffrent so you will have to see how you feel. My general surgeon did my TT and then when my 2nd hernia broke my plastic surgeon did it and revised my TT more. So I have had 2 TT he fixed my muffin top as he did not like the muffin top. I wish you the best and you will do fine.