Scar creams

Dial_M.
on 9/20/09 3:35 pm - Los Angeles-ish, CA
Hello,
I'm a WLS pre-op so while it seems I have no business on this board I'm looking for advice for red scars I have from a tendonitis surgery. I have been using Mederma for a few months but I don't see a difference at all.
Any suggestions for something to reduce the redness? Thanks!

~Michelle

"Everything I did in my life that was worthwhile I caught hell for." ~Earl Warren

Redhaired
on 9/20/09 9:36 pm - Mouseville, FL
I am not a medical professional and you are not going to like my answer -- but here it is, time!  One of my plastic surgeon suggested silicon strips and another of my plastic surgeons said that while scar creams and strips work for some people (and would certainly not make them worse) they did not work for everyone.  His advise was to just be sure I put moisturizer on my scars.  Preferably something that contained vitamin E or aloe.

Red

Dial_M.
on 9/28/09 1:11 am - Los Angeles-ish, CA
well I figure I'll do everything I can while the scar is still relatively new and yes hopefully it'll fade in time!

~Michelle

"Everything I did in my life that was worthwhile I caught hell for." ~Earl Warren

(deactivated member)
on 9/21/09 12:05 am - Wiesbaden, Germany
DS on 10/08/13
Kelocote.  You might need to have the pharmacy order it or order it online on their website.  Long's Drugstore carries it but Long's has been bought out by CVS and have virtually disappeared.
Dial_M.
on 9/28/09 1:14 am - Los Angeles-ish, CA
I googled kelocote and it looks worthy of a try! Thank you!

~Michelle

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 9/21/09 12:31 pm - OH
FWIW: I tried an experiment on my panniculectomy incision... I put Mederma on one section, vitamin e oil on one section, and nothing but normal body moisturizer on the rest.  There was very little difference between the three sections (and, if anything, the Mederma area actually was darker than the other two).