How long were you out of work after TT?

blueigrl
on 8/12/09 8:58 am - port st lucie, FL
i lost 65 lbs in the first 4 1/2 months and then only 2 lbs since then, so i have maintained for at least 7 months.   i currently weigh 136.  At 5'3" i had to be realistic about my goal.  I'd be thrilled to maintain this, i work hard at it and hope for the best.  the economy is bad and since i knew I'd be paying for it myself, i took advantage of what i thought was a good deal with a great Dr.  $9400 for tt and bl and 2 nights stay, everything included.  so far I'm happy with my decision.  Plus i work in retail (Season is coming up) and it was either now or wait til after February and by then i don't think the prices would have been as reasonable.  I took a leap of faith, so far so good.  In my opinion plastics is in no way as scary as the weight lose surgery.  And i found a Dr that i and many people i know have a tremendous amount of confidence in.  I understand your concerns about insurance and it's a very personal decision.  Good luck with whatever you decide. jo
jereyes
on 8/12/09 6:00 am - Tyngsboro, MA
I  had a LBL and hernia repair done 2 years ago.  I found it to be not very painful.  The hardest thing was getting in and out of my bed.  I stopped taking pain pills at day 5.  I then only took the pain bills at bedtime for about another ten days.  I would be stiff once I got up but once I was walking and moving I was fine.  I was required to take about four weeks off from work due to my job.  I do a lot of standing.  If my isurace pain for a TT I would do it in a heart beat.  I was self pay except for the hospital because the insurance covered it due to the hernia.  Good luck on your decision.
MyLady Heidi
on 8/12/09 6:20 am
12 days out of work

out patient at the hospital mixed with a neck lift 10 hours of surgery (it was a teaching hospital YALE)

It was more numb then painful and totally worth it.

Add me as a friend and you can see my pics.

Hugs Heidi

Wendy_Canada