What should I expect after tummy tuck

Anjail
on 8/7/09 6:04 am - Detroit, MI

I'm having tummy tuck on 8/17/09. My original date was 8/24/09 but learned today my date had to be moved up. Anyway I am scared as hell. I'm only taking 2 weeks off work since I have a sit down job. I mean I literally sit all day long. Question, how long will it take before I see results? Will I be able to fit my regular clothes after surgery? Will I lose a pant size once all the swelling goes down? Please anyone respond.

sanguinarythorn
on 8/7/09 6:15 am - Newport News, VA
I have a sit down job too. I was back to work part time in a week, and back to work full time by 2 weeks. I think you'll be fine.

I'm almost a month out now, and I'm just beginning to see the swelling go down. I was actually able to wear my pre-pregnancy size 12's yesterday! Coming home from the hospital, I was in 15/16 because of the swelling... so it's going down considerably now. Depending on how much skin they ultimately take off, I'd say you could lose a couple sizes by the time it's all said and done with. 
Anjail
on 8/8/09 4:23 am - Detroit, MI
Thank  you for your post. I hope a lose another pants size once this is all over with. I'm so looking forward to this but really have no idea what I will look like after or if I will like the results. I do trust my surgeon creative ability but I'm just scared. I'm sure I'm not the first person whom has felt like this. My surgery is scheduled for 8/17/09 which is right around the corner. I filled all my meds today at my pre-op apt. Question, how long were you in pain and how long was it before you were able to stand up straight?
sanguinarythorn
on 8/8/09 10:42 am - Newport News, VA
For me, the worst pain was the first 3-5 days, and I was pretty much off pain meds by 1 week, unless I really over exerted myself or something. I was standing semi straight by a week. I was standing completely straight by 2 weeks. Everyone is really different though.