Newbie here..Question about time off work with Brachioplasty.

BrookeK
on 7/12/09 12:51 pm - Arlington, TX
I have been lurking here for a little while and I'm sure this has been asked before, but I must have missed it!  I plan on having brachioplasty this fall/winter.  I'm wondering how much time I will need off work.  I work at an elementary school with computers.  I don't have to do any lifting.  I'm usually going from room to room working on minor problems with teacher/student computers. 

Thanks in advance for giving me any advise you can!

Brooke K
 I am 5'4" tall

workingmommy
on 7/12/09 2:16 pm
RNY on 12/10/07 with
Hi there.

I am going in for my brachio on Tues.  My PS said that I would need to take 2-3 weeks off from work.  Luckily I don't go back to wor****il Aug 10, so it is not an issue for me.  Good luck!

April

160 lbs lost to date!
LBL: 6/10/09
BL/BA/Brachio: 7/14/09
MTL: 6/17/10

BrookeK
on 7/12/09 2:24 pm - Arlington, TX
Thanks April! 

Good luck on your upcoming surgery!  I will be lurking here, so give us an update when you feel up to it!

Brooke K
 I am 5'4" tall

doreenh
on 7/12/09 7:36 pm - Meredith, NH

Everyone's different, It depends on pain tolerance etc.  I went back to work after about 10 days, I'm a restaurant mgr, my day was shorter and I only did about an hour on the floor and the rest paperwork etc.  It was a few weeks before I felt pretty good.
Good Luck

Kathie L.
on 7/13/09 12:40 am - Castaic, CA
Hi Brooke,

I had my arms (at the same time as a breast lift, neck lift, lower face lift) done last November the Friday before Thanksgiving week. I also work for a school distirct and planned my surgery to be off from work the shortest amount of time. I was off for a total of 2 weeks, but since the first week of my recovery was Thanksgiving week, I was only out for a total of 8 days.

I hope this helps.

California Kathie
RNY - 10/07
Rt. Hip Replacement - 4/08
Upper Body Lift - 11/08 (Dr. Timothy Katzen)