your opinions.. am I selfish?

johns-wife
on 6/24/09 2:48 am
Last year I took a part time job (in addition to my full time job) and started putting that money in a savings account specifically for plastics. I'm a teacher and I also took a summer job.  I have my PS quote and I should have enough saved up by next summer for the whole kit and kaboodle.

well, now my husband's business is doing bad and he needs to borrow money. The house needs a new roof and the kid's need braces. we dont qualify for reduced lunchs anymore due to my part time job so school lunch next year will be 2.5K for 4 kids (including breakfast).

I am feeling guilted into using the 5k I have already saved to help cover these expenses.. but part of me is like.. heck no! I deserve this surgery.

People say  Idon't look that bad and my weight loss came off well with very little sagging skin.. but i don't see it this way.. thus the 12 hour work days...

I'm angry, frustrated, and feeling guilty.. like what kind of  a mom would choose plastics over her kids teeth.. 

Can anyone relate? What should I do?
CTKathy
on 6/24/09 3:20 am - Branford, CT
Revision on 11/13/17
If it was me, I'd use the money for the roof, the braces, the business, and then I'd feel resentful later!  I guess my feeling is that once you have kids, it's all about them and their needs.  If your husband's business fails, you probably won't be able to have plastics any way.  Your money will need to pay for the basics to keep a roof over your family's heads.  Sometimes it stinks to have to put your own needs and wants aside, but that comes with the title "Parent".  Sorry things aren't going well for you in that respect, but maybe it'll just take a little longer til you get that surgery you deserve.  Good luck!

Kathy
speicallady
on 6/24/09 3:37 am - bronx, NY
hello
sometimes you should not let the left hand know what the right hand is doing.
when my daughter found out that I had money saved, of course she had a list of