Help a newbie out? (long-ish)

tiggrpt
on 5/24/09 11:20 am - Sabattus, ME
Hi all,
I'm a newbie to this board and I have some questions, if anyone wouldn't mind helping me out.

I am just over 13 months out from my RNY.  I've been maintaining at about 119-120 since Dec '08.  I am very pleased with my weight loss but am now having issues with the extra skin. (DUH, right.....140 pounds later!)  ANYWAYS....I have had virtually NO skin rash issues.  My panni isn't that large but I have quite a large "muffin" which I'd love to get rid of!!  I also have the "bat wings", "lemons in tube socks" for breasts, and "sharpei" inner thighs.  The arms and the muffin bother me the most.  I'm very active and even started running until I developed back pain due to the muffin skin bouncing around so much.  I've tried supports, spanx, all kinds of things to help stop it from bouncing around but I still have the back pain.  I've even been seeing a chiropractor due to the pain. 

My PCP felt I should see a plastic surgeon, so I called to set up an appt.  Well.....after a few questions from a "receptionist", she wouldn't even schedule a consult for me as she didn't think I would qualify for my insurance to pay and I can't afford to privately pay.  

So.....(after all that long winded stuff....)  Did any of you run into this?  Will my back pain help me to convince the insurance that this is medically necessary?  Did any of you get your surgery covered without skin rashes?   Any ideas how I can get a consult (I'm planning to call some other offices, but the first one I called was very highly recommended)   I'm truly frustrated!  

Thank you all for your suggestions and help!!!!!!
Ruth

Ruth                  "It's never to late to LIVE HAPPILY EVER AFTER!"

Pat M.
on 5/25/09 12:32 pm - Lewiston, ME