Nutrition advice please. . .

karen C.
on 4/17/08 2:00 am - Kennewick, WA
I'm concerned that my daughter Erin, breastfeeding twins, is not taking time to eat what she needs to.  It's kind of grab and go at their house right now. She likes the Champion pure whey shakes that I drink. Anything wrong with her starting her day with one of those? It was a thought and wasn't sure. I know that regular nutritious foods are what she needs most and she is trying but sometimes  the day just gets away from her. I can understand how it does with two hungry mouths to feed every three hours. Karen C

Karen C

(deactivated member)
on 4/17/08 2:40 am - San Juan Capistrano, CA
RNY on 07/11/07 with
Karen,  I am no expert on nutrition, but I did breastfeed my children & was an active member of La Leche League.  They are a very supportive pro-breastfeeding non-profit organization.  Here is a link to their site: http://www.llli.org/resources.html  IMHO, the shake would be fine.   I think she needs a well-balanced diet & LOTS OF LIQUIDS.   A little rest occasionally wouldn't hurt either (yeah, what are the chances of that?).    The pics are so beautiful!   I have always appreciated how sweet & specail newborn babies are, but these days I see how beautiful it is to see the parents as well.  Your Daughter & SIL are going to be great parents!  HUGS
Karen S.
on 4/17/08 2:40 am - Wailuku, HI
Aloha Karen.....I remember when my DIL had Brocky (first baby). At 10 days she was eating a lot of pita stuffed with veggies and hummus. She said doc said it was good for her and breast milk, and easy to have everything on hand to build a quickie sammy.

Fruit, of course, is an easy grab and go....as I know time must be at a premium for her right now.

Aloha nui loa,

Maui Karen

Connie D.
on 4/17/08 4:37 am