recovery time when you are 50 ish

(deactivated member)
on 4/9/08 10:52 pm - east falmouth, MA
Hi everybody..I am new to this particular forum  but this is probably my place.  I have age related questions.  Haven't had the surgery yet but hoping to soon.  I would love to know some of your recovery times and experiences.     I need to work, and have to plan on hiring help after the operation and am looking for a baseline in our age group.  when can you stay out of the house for more than a few hours without worrying about a bathroom  How long did you actually do the couch time recovery /  what was the pain like.  how long until you can lift anything, bend, etc... Hows the energy factor...    I know everybody is different but just looking for a little input...There is plenty on the general forum but it kind of looks like they are 20 year olds so I guess a bit more realistic frame might be appropriate.... I see the surgeon on Monday and am sooooooo anxious!   Love to hear from you all!  Thanks
Judy G.
on 4/9/08 11:20 pm - Galion, OH

HI AND WELCOME TO THE BEST OH HAS TO OFFER!!!

WELL I GUESS IT ALL DEPENDS ON WHAT TYPE OF WLS YOU HAVE FOR YOUR RECOVERY...I HAD LAP RNY AND I WAS OFF WORK TIL I WENT FOR MY FIRST CHECK UP....I AM A CASHIER AND WAS OK TO GO BACK TO WORK AFTER I SAW MY DR. BUT IT DEPENDS ON WHAT TYPE OF WORK THAT YOU DO...IF ITS A SIT DOWN TYPE OPF JOB AND YOU HAD LAP AND NOT OPEN YOU SHOULD BE ABLE TO GO BACK REAL SOON....BUT I AMNOT A DR SO ITS ALL UP TO HOW YOUR DR DOES THINGS AND HOW YOU FEEL AND IF THERE WERE ANY COMPLICATONS....HOPE THIS HELPS YOU...AND I WANT TO WISH YOU THE BEST AND HOPE TO SEE YOU HERE MORE OFTEN...WE ARE A GREAT BUNCH AND ALWAYS SUPPORTIVE!!!!

HUGS

lightswitch
on 4/9/08 11:20 pm