Realtor Murdered in our area showing a house...

Connie D.
on 3/20/08 12:33 am
Marti...how awful!!  Such a senseless and violent act. My heart goes out to you and to her family.  Please be very cautious......the world has gone crazy!! Hugs, connie d
(deactivated member)
on 3/20/08 12:57 am - Columbus, GA
Wow.... so many creeps out there... it is a scary world indeed... I was a Federal Law Enforcement Officer for 14 years, and one of the hardest things to learn and to teach the younger ones was to actually act on those hunches that "something ain't right" We all get those feelings... the "little hairs on the back of neck" feelings about someone or a situation, but for whatever reason we usually fail to act on them. We spent a lot of time training to act on those feelings... move to a safer area, get behind cover, call for back up.. and yes, take the weapon out of the holster and have it at the ready... Part of law enforcement that a lot of people don't realize is the training... and this could really apply to the Realtors in a big way, specifically the questions we ask someone... In my world a few seemingly casual questions if someone claims to be "just a fisherman" can really let me know if they are fisherman, or just pretending to be so they can bring in their load of drugs or illegal aliens... "How long you been out?" and "did you catch any spotted blue fin pea**** bass?" (no such creature) and other seemingly innocent questions that appear to be just idle conversation would really tell me a lot. ... anyhoo.. If you could come up with a few specific questions that would not arouse any suspicion ... ones that just sound like casual conversation, and memorize them and ask those questions when you are in a safe spot prior to going to a potentially unsafe spot you will likely either increase or decrease your comfort level... and then take action based on what you feel. If you are really uncomfortable with a situation, just get away. A criminal may have thought out som