Relationship with food

kamac
on 3/19/17 8:22 am
VSG on 07/09/18

You're not alone. Speaking for myself, I know I got myself into this mess because of my unhealthy emotional relationship with food and eating.

I'm still a newbie with no surgery date yet, but here a couple of things I've been doing...

This book was recommended to me, I just ordered it and it hasn't arrived yet, but I'm hoping it will help me re-calibrate my relationship with food. It's called Mindful Eating: A Guide to Rediscovering a Healthy and Joyful Relationship with Food

It discusses different types of hunger- stomach hunger and cellular hunger can only be satisfied with food, but other types of hunger (eye, nose, ear, mind, heart) can be satisfied in other ways. It has advice about slowing down before we eat, and how to identify the hunger we may be experiencing.

Another thing I'm actively working on, is finding ways I can soothe myself or treat myself without using food, or at least without using unhealthy foods that only make me feel worse the next day. It's not easy. Bubble baths and fresh flowers don't provide nearly the same "punch" as sugary, high carb foods. But I'm slowly learning to tolerate the unpleasant/uncomfortable feelings that occur when I don't use food as a drug, and I can wake up the next morning feeling proud of myself and the progress I'm making towards my ultimate goal.

I think part of this process is just learning to trust ourselves that we can do it!

Kara
Highest Weight: 420; Opti Starting Weight: 395; Surgery Weight: 371;
Current Weight: 322.1; Goal Weight: 160

"Find things beautiful as much as you can, most people find too little beautiful."
-Vincent Van Gogh

Kathy1212
on 3/19/17 12:59 pm

I was afraid of the same things, but guess what? After surgery it will seem like all you do is eat or drink, lol. It takes so long to get the protein and liquids in that you feel like eating and drinking is now your full time job.