HOW

tricia lynch
on 7/8/15 10:11 am - thorold, Canada

I have maybe a dumb question lol but dad always said no question is dumb unless it is a question not asked lol.. When you have surgery and you loose your weight how and what tells your body ok this is all your going to loose.. I'm 310  and goal is to get to 170 when my time comes but would love to get down to 140- 150 as i'm just 5 foot 3 (If that lol) i do not want to get to skinny just wondering how your body knows when to stop.. 

Helna_Handbasket
on 7/8/15 4:11 am, edited 7/8/15 4:12 am - OWEN SOUND, Canada

Not a dumb question at all - and I trust in what dads say.  

I am no scientist blah blah blah but here's what I think.  We all have a natural weight that is where our body is at it's healthiest.  It may not be an exact number, but I think it's more how you feel.  Are you happy?  Do you have more energy?  Are any health concerns that you had previously diminished?  Do you just feel good?  Know what I mean?  Once you get down to the size you seem to be maintaining, then you know your "base point" and can maintain and sustain the healthier lifestyle you've had the previous year or so to adapt to, then your body knows.  I hope that all makes sense :) 

Referral: August 2014 Orientation: 28Nov14 Social Worker: 05Feb15 Nurse Practitioner: 25Feb15 Nutrition Class: 30Mar15 Dietitian: 14Apr15 Psychologist: 21Apr15 NP followup: 23Apr15 Meet Surgeon: 26June15 Start Opti/PreOp: 21July15 Surgery!: 04Aug15!! 

I keep a blog... you're welcome to read it anytime :)  https://heretoeaternity.wordpress.com/

bonefish
on 7/9/15 7:41 pm

Agree with this 100%!

Look up "best weight", Dr Sharma and Dr Freedhoff talk about a lot. 

Patm
on 7/8/15 11:25 am - Ontario, Canada
RNY on 01/20/12