Gastric sleeve in Ontario, will Ohip say no.

Kari1775
on 10/21/14 9:21 am - Canada

hi I am new to all of this!!! I have a question and it's probably not the first time asked. But with my knee problems and being over weight at a bmi of 36, I am looking to get gastric sleeve done. I know wait times are long and I  have no problem doing the waiting. But I was told that they probably won't do it for me. That they will tell me that my only option is by-pass. Is this true. I only want the sleeve. The by-pass freakes me out ..

i guess if I want this done I have to pay right.?

kari. 

DeeMishka
on 10/21/14 1:00 pm
RNY on 08/08/14

When I was going through my process my surgeon told me that RNY is considered the gold weight loss surgery in Ontario and they always do the RNY unless there is a health reason that would prevent the RNY being done and then they would result to the sleeve. He also mentioned if once inside and doing the RNY if they ran into any concerns and the sleeve would turn out to be safer they would do it then. He told me the reason for this is because the government has to approve the sleeve and the surgeon must present the cir****tances to them before the funding would be approved. I hope this helps and it could very well be different at each centre I was through Humber River Regional Hospital.

msmuggins
on 10/21/14 1:00 pm - Canada
RNY on 01/05/15