Newbie here with lots of questions!!

(deactivated member)
on 10/14/14 6:16 am - Mississauga, Canada

I am new on this site. I don't have my referral yet from my family doctor but am going on Friday to get it.  I have given a lot of thought before deciding to proceed with the surgery.

I have been overweight my whole life and then in 2011 joined Weigh****chers for the millionth time, lost 95 lbs in 2 years and now I have gained back 30 lbs of what I lost.

I am trying and trying but continue to fail and I think I need to go a different route now.

Several of my friends have done this surgery and have had good success (except for one).  They have provided me some good information.

My current weight is 275 lbs, I have high blood pressure which is controlled by meds and other issues due to my obesity.

My biggest concern is the weeks leading up to the surgery and the Optifast diet.

Can anyone walk me through the process and what tests you have and who you meet with along the way?

Also, what is the average recovery time and how long do you stay in the hospital for?

Thanks!

Mellybelly 

Hollynik
on 10/14/14 9:26 am - Canada

It really depends on which centre you end up with based on your postal code.  Each centre runs their program a little differently.  Also, each persons recovery is very individual but most people stay in hospital for 2 nights but again that depends on complications that may arise.  I'm sure your friends have given you lots of information on the process and the tests required are also based on your health issues.  I did Opti for 4 weeks and for me I didn't mind it at all, you shouldn't worry so much about it yet it's a long process before you will be at that point.  Use this site to research and read everything you can to prepare for your surgery.

Jiliana2
on 10/14/14 10:07 pm - Ottawa, Canada
VSG on 02/03/14

Hi Mellybelly, and welcome to the site!