First appointment with nurse

eeyorelover
on 10/8/14 11:40 am - Canada

Hi I am a newbie! I had my first appointment with the nurse today and she has me a little worried now. I know there are a lot of complications that can happen after surgery, I have been researching for almost a year now. She really pushed about the bad stuff and now I am second guessing myself. So I guess my question's are would you all mind sharing some of the complications you have had and if you feel the surgery was worth having even with the complications? Thanks!

margarita_mrs
on 10/8/14 12:01 pm

Anyone who has gone through it, complications or not, has said that they don't regret it!  This is my second time through guelph because I freaked out the first time round and didn't go through with it.  Well, I'm back at it and doing it no matter what.

Referral sent- June/July 2014  Orientation GGH- Aug. 28/14  SW/Nurse/Nutritionist- Sept. 18/15  SW/Nurse/Nutritionist Part 2- Nov. 18/15  Pre-surgery education class- Feb. 9/15  Meet surgeon - Mar. 23/15  Surgery date- May 29, 2015  A great day to start a new chapter in my life!

Jiliana2
on 10/9/14 12:04 am - Ottawa, Canada
VSG on 02/03/14

In my view, here's how to approach major surgery like this.

KNOW that complications are indeed quite possible. Have some idea of what they are. Have an idea of what might be done by your surgical team to resolve those complications when/if they occur. Understand that complications can happen years out from surgery. Be aware of your body and what you need to watch for. And don't be afraid to go to your surgeon or centre to get something checked. No matter how small or insignificant it may seem, you are better off checking than letting it go.

Know too that many of us go through this without any complications whatsoever. That is the majority of us.