Stretched Pouch

LouiseMary00
on 6/25/14 11:06 am - Canada

Hello All,

I had gastric bypass surgery about 7 years ago. Wondering if I can get an x ray to see if I have stretched my pouch and if there is a cost?  Has anyone had this done and where did you go?  I live near Belleville, Ontario/

Diminishing Dawn if you are reading this I am still waiting for your book!!!!!

Thank you!

Karen M.
on 6/25/14 11:14 am, edited 6/25/14 11:15 am - Mississauga, Canada

I'm no doctor (only in my own mind) but I would think an endoscopy would be your best bet on that - not sure. If warranted I can't imagine there would be a cost outside of what OHIP covers. I'm more curious as to why you think you've stretched your pouch.

Karen

Ontario Recipes Forum - http://www.obesityhelp.com/group/ontario_recipes/

Diminishing Dawn
on 6/25/14 1:25 pm, edited 6/25/14 1:25 pm - Windsor, Canada

Bwahaha. You are too funny.  

I think many of us long timers get into bad habits.  Too much sugar, too many carbs,carbonation, eating and drinking together.    Not sure if any apply to you but I'd start by eating clean again - omitting prepackaged crap.  Eliminate fake foods and sweetened.  That will help reduce bloat.  

Then sit down in a quiet distraction free spot with some protein   Eat slowly and cut up food.  Put fork down between bites.   Have a few bites of veggies.  How much can you eat til you feel satisfied?  Satisfied, not stuffed?

usually we've gotten I to bad habits.  Try that out for one week if you can.   See if you reconnect with your pouch.  Many of us have just gotten into bad habits but our pouch still works.  It's just much more difficult mentally and to get back to basics.  We have to relearn those habits again. 

If you feel after that you need support try having your doctor make a referral to a bariatric centre.  You may get to talk with a dietician etc.

good luck and message me anytime.  It is a challenge long term for many of us!