NEWBIE HERE- 1st post. Looking for support and current wait times Toronto

(deactivated member)
on 6/1/14 1:09 pm, edited 8/13/14 1:34 pm - Toronto, Canada

Hi There, 

I have been reading this site for some time, well before I ever imagined I would be forgoing gastric bypass. I have always suffered my weight issues in silence, and alone, and that is how I did find Obesity Helps years ago.

I realized with my up and coming orientation date set, that since I really do not have much support, and because I do feel we all would require support through this process, I decided I would join the site, and hopefully make some good friends who get me' along the way.

My family is full of obese women. I have always been the smallest in that group. I think this accounted for me living with my size and feeling somewhat OK, and definitely not fat. No way, not me. I have lived for so long in denial, while never even being able to complete simple everyday joys, like walking half a mile throughout a park, giving my dog the exercise she deserves, and standing for anything more than 15 minutes. I became used to my size, my body, I had almost even accepted it. I never felt ugly, or fat. It was only until this year, at 34, after having gone through a painful heartbreak, that I realized just how severe my weight problem is, and how depressed, and shameful I was about it. How much I hide this from everyone.