poached eggs????

Dollface-1981
on 6/26/11 10:38 pm - Newmarket, Canada
 i tried to make a poached egg this morning for the first time and failed miserably!
Does anyone know of an easy foolproof way to make one?

Find me on facebook here:  
http://www.facebook.com/DollFace81

samtq
on 6/26/11 10:40 pm - Ottawa, Canada
 I am not good at poaching but what I do is start to fry it in a non stick pan with Pam, then once the edges start to cook and it holds its shape I toss in a splash of water and then cover it.  Kind of a fry/poach.
“The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.? --John “the Penguin? Bingham 
There is no passion to be found playing small - in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living. ~ Nelson Mandela

HW: 247.5/SW: 228.5/CW:135/ My GW: 140/SGW: 151
Patti K.
on 6/26/11 10:44 pm - Kingston On, Canada
Dollface...if you don't have a container to "contain" the egg, boil water, and crack your egg into it, it will go all over, but will come together....and boil for a couple of minutes...when you poach eggs they need steam/water....good luck...Patti K.

Gabygee
on 6/26/11 10:48 pm - Canada
2 ways work for me:

1) I bought a 2-egg poacher for the mircowave at the dollar store.
I put 1/2 tsp of water in the bottom of the well, break the egg into it, and puncture the yolk with a fork.
On high for 1 minute - done.

2) In a small saucepan, 1/2 cup water - bring to a rolling boil
Add 1 tsp vinegar
Break you egg into a teacup or measuring cup (main thing it has a handle and you can pour easily)
Pour the gg into the boiling water and "lop" the edges in with a fork.
Boil 1 minute, remove from water with a slotted spoon.

mrbugman
on 6/26/11 11:04 pm - North Bay, Canada
I bought silicone egg poachers from a local restaurant supply place but have also seen them on Amazon.

They work great.........................Bill

on_my_way2011
on 6/26/11 11:05 pm - Canada