New - going to HRRH - Timeline?

mamaty
on 3/15/11 10:50 pm, edited 3/15/11 11:31 pm
Good Morning!

So I'm new to this, but my mom is on here...Hey Mama...lol...I was just wondering what other members wait times were like for HRRH.  My doctor sent in my referral at the end of July 2010, it was sent to Ottawa, I called them and asked that they send it to Toronto because it was closer. It was sent to Humber, I called them and they asked if i wanted to come to the information session on March 14, 2011.  So now that I have been to the Info (Orientation) session, how long has everyone else found it took to hear about appointments. I was also wondering are they usually understanding about booking more than one appointment in a day (I live 2 1/2 hrs away).

Thanks for your input :) 
BubblyD
on 3/16/11 12:42 am
I don't know about Toronto, but in Windsor we received our first 4 appointments at the orientation and at Guelph they were to call the next day to get the first 3 appointments and they were all on the same day.  I'm sure someone from Toronto will reply with more helpful info.  I would think they would put all the appointments on one day since you live a distance away.
My angels are Sharon D and Weathers_pc. 
Re-DiscoveringMe
on 3/16/11 1:38 am
Here's my HRRH experience. "ericaFG" can give you stats for other HRRH patients.

Referral sent by GP: October 25
Initial meeting with surgeon: November 8

Orientation: December 9
Social worker and Nutrionist appointments: January 4
Met with surgeon to sign consent forms: January 17
(I was offered a mid-February surgery date but I asked for an April date so I could schedule with my work better)
PATTS (pre-admission appointments): March 11, 2011
Surgery: April 12, 2011

At my November 8th appointment I was told to expect the process to take about 6 months. Mine could have been short as 3 months if I'd taken the first surgery date offered.

Good luck to you!
TraceyM45
on 3/16/11 2:12 am