12 wks post op - compromised immune system?

Stella_Bee01
on 10/14/10 10:44 pm
Hi All,  I'm on my third cold/flu virus since August.  RNY 7/2010.  All is going well, except catching everything!  Surgeon told me that following this type of surgery, my immune system may be compromised for several months post op.  I'm headed back to my family doctor this morning and want to ask about ways to improve my immune system.  I work in healthcare and can't go into flu season like this!  Wasn't able to get a flu shot due to immune system.   I've missed work and the boss is not happy.   I take the recommended multi vitamins from Bariatric Advantage, as well as B12.   Any suggestions?   Thanks!
rbb825
on 10/16/10 4:10 pm - Suffern, NY
I have an immune deficiency and was diagnosed in 2003.  For about 7 years prior, I just got infection after infection - it was nuts. I basically was on antibiotics for 7 years straight, no more than 10 days off of them at a time.  Finally after 7 years and lots of testing, they found out I have something called common variable immune deficiency. I went onto IV gamma globbulin and now I hardly ever get sick.  I did get strep throat last month and  about a year before that I had bronchitis but nothing like before. I used to have constant sinus infections and bronchitis but I still got a flu shot.  They just had to time it right.  It was actually imperititive that I get one since me being sick so much they were terrified what would happen if I got the flu.  As soon as I went off the antibiotics during the month of September, I got the shot.