Thoughts on Viactiv......

glitzigirl
on 1/26/09 12:26 am - Teaneck, NJ
I have been faithfully taking citrical because I know we are supposed to have calcium citrate due to absorption, but taking 6 pills a day is really getting to me.; Has anyone tried the Viactiv and had their levels tested? I will have my 1 year bloodwork next month which will be great I am sure because I have been faithful with the vitamins, but they make me sooooooooooo NAUSEOUS!!!! I have tried with meals, 30 mins after, 60 mins after.....SICK SICK SICK. I also found www.bodybuilding.com where they sell calcium citrate capsule that have 750mg each so I would only need 2 a day. HELP!!!!!!!!!!
(deactivated member)
on 1/26/09 12:34 am
I work in the health field and have seen women who have had the surgery and either didn't take vitamins or thought it was ok to take viactiv.  Don't do it, it's not worth it.  Have you tried any of the bariatric lozenges?  One more thing, our bodies can only absorb about 500 mg of calcium at a time (dont' quote me on that...hopefully someone will clarify that for us).

I'm a newbie so I don't have the best advice but you'll be in my prayers.

Angie
Pam T.
on 1/26/09 10:53 pm - Saginaw, MI
Viactive is calcium carbonate --- the wrong kind of calcium.

As for the capsules.  750mg is more than your body can deal with at a time (limit doses to 400-500mg) and that product does not include any Vitamin D.  So you'd need to supplement extra D besides that pill.  Try dissolving your citracal in water -- it takes about 10 minutes and is tasteless.

Calcium deficiencies do not show up in blood work.  The body will automatically keep your blood calcium levels perfect by leaching what it needs from your bones. 

My Recipe Index is packed full of yumminess!
Visit my blog: Journey to a Healthier Me  ...or my Website

The scale can measure the weight of my body but never my worth as a woman. ~Lysa TerKeurst author of Made to Crave

glitzigirl
on 1/26/09 11:17 pm - Teaneck, NJ