Protein question

ayoung77
on 10/30/08 3:31 am
Hello all,

Maybe this is a stupid question, but I'm new to all this. See I'm still in the beginning stages of everything. My consult is not until Nov 13, but I know he'll want me to lose weight before surgery. But anyways, I was wondering if the protein shakes that everyone is speaking of are like slim fast shakes. Can I use these shakes (whey, unjury...) to help me lose weight if I use them for meal replacements. I'm so confused! Please school me. thanks!
Pam T.
on 10/30/08 9:21 am - Saginaw, MI
 Hello and welcome!  Congrats on your consult - it's the same day as my 1 year anniversary of my surgery.  :-)

Please remember that no question is stupid.  Please feel free to ask anything here, we have all been at the beginning stages when we were just starting to learn the lingo. 

Slim Fast makes a low carb version of their ready to drink (RTD) shakes and I use them sometimes when I don't have time to make a shake from scratch.  You want to pick something that is high in protein, low in carbs and very little sugar (less than 5g) and very little fat (less than 5g). Some of the RTD shakes may have a higher sugar content if it's mixed with milk because milk has natural sugars (lactose) - so keep that in mind when reading labels.  

Whey Isolate Protein is the highest quality protein powder available.  Isolate will not have sugar or fat (or maybe 1-2g each sometimes) and is pure protein.  You mix it with water, milk, juice or crystal light or whatever. Obviously you're getting a higher quality of protein with a powder that you mix yourself.

My personal favor protein shake (of the moment)
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
4-5 frozen strawberries
1 cup crystal light (whatever flavor is mixed up in the fridge)
Blend until thick and smooth like a milk shake.