need a refresher on sensible eating 1.7 years out from RNY

jenihig
on 10/4/08 3:33 am - FL
I need a refresher course on a nutritionally sound eating plan/ food ideas and amounts that I should be following at 1 year 7 months from RNY. I started at 298 lbs and I am currently at 211 lbs. I am 5'3" and I am insulin resistant.

Any help???

Thanks in advance, Jenifer
Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, 
            it became a butterfly
-anonymous
Butterfly
Commit to the Lord whatever you do and your plans will succeed. Proverbs 16:3
Elaine C.
on 10/4/08 5:19 am - Lawton, OK
I am by no means a professionl....you may want to consult a nut...but here is my 2 cents...

Protein first...keeps you satisfied longer

Veggies

Fruit (berries are very good for you and I eat almost a cup of blueberries a day)

Your body does need fiber so the veggies are very important.  If you are like me I don't get as many in as I should so you may want to consider taking a fiber supplement like Benefiber (tasteless and can be added to foods without affecting it) or a chewable fiber tablet.

I still have a protein shake in the aM to get my day started.  with 4 to 6 oz of 1% milk and my protein powder then a heaping tsp of decaf instant coffee and ice and viola I have a protein frappucino!

lunch is usually a homemead turkey chili (canned chili to me just sucks) or a bean soup, etc.

Dinner, maybe chicken and veggie.

I do snack and will have a rice cake with PB or a yogurt with frozen blueberries and granola.

In 2 months I will be 2 years out and have continued to lose, all be it slowly now.  And, I eat 1400 to 1600 calories per day.

We also joke in my house that we discriminate against white foods. LOL.  No white bread, rice or potatoes or crackers.  I do eat WASA crackers once in a while and whole grain rice cakes.  But I now try very hard to stay away from the processed stuff and buy whole grains and fressh or frozen veggies and fruit.