Oatmeal, any advise

lucky_lady76
on 1/23/08 5:27 am - Texarkana, TX
I am almost 9 months post-op. I was wondering if it was alright to eat eatmeal, or will it clump up in my pouch? I am getting tired of the same old things and wanting to change it up a little. Any help is greatly appreciated.
GOD BLESS   Cynthia
sweetpea25
on 1/23/08 7:23 am - The beautiful state of, AL
Hi Cynthia! Oatmeal from my surgeon was allowed after the first month.  As well as grits.  Not sure if you even LIKE grits, but they are really yummy with cheese added for extra protein. :) I have been enjoying oatmeal now for the past 4 months.  It goes down really well and helps in the fiber department.  You should be able to tolerate it wonderfully!  I make mine soupier than pre-op though.  I prefer it lumpy, but didn't want to risk it getting stuck. I hope it's a nice treat for you!! Cynthia
(deactivated member)
on 1/23/08 11:01 pm - Cleveland Heights, OH
I eat oatmeal almost every day, and I'm 27+ months out from surgery.  I like the Quaker Weight Control oatmeal - it has slightly more fiber and protein than the regular packets.  If you're sensitive to sugar, Quaker also makes a lower-sugar variety.  Finally, Kashi makes a Go Lean Oatmeal that has higher fiber and higher protein than regular oatmeal.   Enjoy a little change in your daily routine! Kellie
lucky_lady76
on 1/23/08 11:54 pm - Texarkana, TX
Thanks for the replys, I thought I saw something about being able to eat it but wanted to make sure. I am not a oatmeal person, but figure since I can't eat much anyway, I could choke down a couple of bites.  Thanks again for the responses.
GOD BLESS   Cynthia
(deactivated member)
on 1/24/08 12:50 am - Cleveland Heights, OH