Hypoglycemia - help

MelissaF
on 1/14/08 12:22 pm - Northwood, IA
Hi Everyone!  I am starting to get more and more hypoglycemic all the time now.  I never eat white refined carbs, only whole grains.. and limited amounts.  However this is my dilemma. I am below goal.. my protein is already sky high like over 100 grams even up to 125 grams some days and my fats are maxed out too.  The only thing to add is carbs.. so I have been getting over a 100 grams now and when I do.. i drop all the time.  I also added strength training to my running routine.  I run 2-3 miles 3-4 times a week and now strength tranining 2-3 times a week 45 mins at a time. Ever since I started this a few weeks ago, blood sugars dropping left and right.  I do a protein bar usually before and after the gym.  I am a nurse so really do know how to control these things normally.. but for WLS patients of course its a whole nother ball game. I am below goal and adding cals to stop my loss but find that if I eat too many even good carbs, I just drop like mad. Partially I think this is my fault b/c I detoxed from carbs (especially bad ones) 6 months preop.  I think my pancreas is still spitting out insulin like I am a diabetic even though I don't need that much and with the fat loss, there are more receptors available on the eyelet cells to uptake that insulin for my cells.. = disasterous, low blood sugars. I am very tired of it.  I eat 6 times a day.. I am doing everything I am supposed to.  I may have to give up the strength training.  It's been worse since.. any thoughts?  Thanks everyone. 
Hugs, Melissa 

http://www.onetruemedia.com/shared?p=6166c1bf498224d5a8b93e&skin_id=701&utm_source=otm&utm_medium=text_url

RNY- 12/04/06 with Dr. Matt Glasock

LBL - 4/28/09 with Dr. Rene Recinos

(deactivated member)
on 1/14/08 9:51 pm - Cleveland Heights, OH