Low Hemoglobin....help?

Karen G
on 12/19/07 9:42 am - Brampton, Canada
My iron is at 86 and must be over 100. What is the best advice for getting my levels up? I live in Canada and take over-the-counter ferrous gluconate. Thanks Karen G

Karen G   Lap RNY 12-15-2004     Lasik Eye Surgery 12-23-2006 

LizzyL
on 12/19/07 11:37 am - NY
RNY on 06/08/04 with
Hello, i am not a professional.... i just like to do look things up and reseach online. when i was a new post op....i had low hemogloblin, too. to get my iron levels up.... 1 )  - I started taking extra vitamin C with my iron pill. i take vitron-C - Click here i also take extra vitamin C as well even though it has vitamin C in my iron pill. taking extra Vitamin C ....promotes iron absorption 2 ) - I got my iron from foods...

-Bran flakes cereal, multigrain breads, rye bread, whole wheat bread -all meats , Beef liver,steak, shrimp, lean ground beef, tuna, Halibut.....etc. - all kind of beans - kidney beans....Navy beans.........etc. - whole grain foods , mixed peanuts - Whole wheat breads/ multigrain cereals, oatmeal - vegies - Broccoli ,Green peas, Spinach - dark green leafy vegetables -eggs, Swiss chard,  - drinking ...coffee, tea - sugar free chocolate i am sure there is A LOT more foods that have iron in them it is worth to Do a little reseach in google.com and find these iron -rich foods... then go buy the foods that are high in iron. add them to your diet. eat iron-rich foods and take your iron pill ....this is how i got my iron level's up... i am over 3 years post op ...and my iron level is just fine :-)

best wishes to you Happy Holidays hugss Lizzy

Hugs & Kisses
Lizzybee2.gif

Karen G
on 12/20/07 2:22 am - Brampton, Canada