Had My BMR tested..

MelissaF
on 12/19/07 4:39 am, edited 12/19/07 4:41 am - Northwood, IA
Hi Ladies! I just wanted to let you know that I had my BMR tested.  My BMR is 1681, they said this is above average for my age, weight, etc.  Figuring in "light activity" for a lifestyle which is very worse case scenerio (b/c I work as a nurse 2 days a week on a floor but that's it) and stay busy otherwise around the house, running errands, etc.. I also run 3-5 times a week 2 miles at a time and haven't done too much strength training so far, but plan to increase what I have done (free weights to circuits), the test said I could consume 2353 calories to MAINTAIN!  Now we know that CANNOT be right for a WLS patient.  It also said my Fuel burning mixture was 88% fat and 12% carbs. So the trainer that did my test told me this. 1) My 1200 calorie a day diet is too low.  See.. I am losing but its slow now that I am below my own personal goal and pretty much feel it will stop here soon.  I am 135ish, personal goal was 140.  I wanna now go down to 130 though to be honest.  I am 5'5" and smaller bone frame. 2) He says I will bring my BMR down by eating so "little" that I should strive to get my cals up near 1600 (closer to my BMR) to avoid bringing my BMR down in the future which he says for me could be devastating.. would gain weight back, now is the time to correct this.  He says the body will get used to this little caloric level over time.  He also said I process carbs terribly and fats well.. I actually already had this figured out on my own and strive for more good fats and less carbs. 3) I took this info to the PA and nutritionist at my doc's office.. they honestly didn't know what to tell me.. that I was in tune enough with my body and will "get it figured out". I already know I am eating the right foods, complex carbs, low fat dairy, lean meats (get in 100 grams a day of protein) and don't eat sugar or white refined flours, pastas breads, carbs of any kind. But at the same ti