9 months out with questions about weight loss...

MelissaF
on 9/6/07 5:40 am - Northwood, IA
Hi there!  I am hoping one of the dieticians can help me!  I am a nurse but don't have the knowledge and expertise in the nutrition world that you all have so would appreciate any feedback you could give me!!!  It is so awesome you are here! I am now 9 months postop and I am continuing to lose 10-12 lbs a month.  In the past couple days I have dropped another 4 lbs.  I am NOT complaining.  I am THRILLED.  However.. if this continues I can see myself going way past my goal and then fighting to keep weight on.  May not happen but could.  I am 154 as of this morning.  My docs goal was 165 and my personal goal 140, thinking of lowering to 130-135 to leave me some room to move a bit.  More than anything I want a NORMAL BMI and lose 100 percent of my excess weight after WLS.. I know most do not accomplish this but all me an overachiever this has always been my goal and I know I will make it as a normal BMI for me is 4 lbs away at 150 lbs. Ok so this is where my concern comes in.. say I get down to 130-135 over the next couple of months should my body continue to lose like it has.  At that point I will find myself adding more calories to maintain.  I am getting 1000 now pretty religiously so I will toy with it till its right going up 100-200 a week to find my maintain mode".  However I know our colons get smarter at around 18 months out and every calorie just starts counting and then I might find myself fighting not to gain.  What a battle.. Or I could be freaking out for nothing... and it will stop where it is supposed to here in the next month or two and all will be fine other than me finding out how many cals to consume to maintain.  I know my pouch isn't done "stretching" meaning I can eat 4 oz of dense meat and a small side salad or soft veggies or 1 cup of more liquidy stuff like chili.. it has been this way for months tho for me.. like since month 5-6.. so not sure I am gain