new to forum

valleymom40
on 8/17/11 12:24 am
Hey, this is my first time and I am a little shy about this.....I have read alot of the posts and you guys are sooo supportative of eachother.  My Dr. just put my referral in May 2011 so I hear it will be a wait?  I guess good things come... Anyway, thanks for your time
livelifeagain
on 8/17/11 8:28 pm
Hi there,  Congratulations on making the decision to start your weight loss journey.  You won't regret it. 

Let's hope they do something to shorten the wait time for surgery in Nova Scotia.  I went out of province to have my VSG done as I couldn't wait to have it done in NS so that may be something else to consider if it is an option for you. 

Whatever way you choose, good luck on your journey and this forum is a great place to come for both information and support.

Take care.

valleymom40
on 8/18/11 1:46 am
Thanks, ya I agree that something has to be done..... Where did you get yours done?  If you don't mind me asking...... around how much was it?  None of the costs are covered be your personal health care plans ( ie: Blue Cross ) are they?  Why are the wait times sooooo long do you think?  I have a few other issues that my Dr. thinks may help me get in a bit faster but I am not sure that that rumour ( getting in faster ) is even true...... Thanks for writing to me 
livelifeagain
on 8/18/11 4:10 am
I went to Montreal for my surgery with Dr. Michel Gagner.  He is well respected in this field and I wanted to go someplace fairly close to home with a surgeon I felt very confident in.  This is a link to Dr. Gagner's profile on this site. http://www.obesityhelp.com/profiles/bariatric-surgeon/dr-mic hel-gagner/